Helping God Out…aka “Healer” was faked.

20 08 2008

So the story broke today. Mike Guglielmucci faked the whole thing. He never had cancer. He never had a terminal illness. He never went to the doctor, got the bad news, and then sat down and penned that awesome song. It was a lie. He was a fake.

But the song wasn’t.

Let’s face it. The song is a good song. I admit that I didn’t like it much at first. And, honestly, if it wasn’t coupled with the incredible (and completely made up) testimony, I don’t know if I ever would have liked it. But I do now. And so do millions of people around the world. God took Mike’s lack of class and character, turned it around, and made good come out of it.

Just like He always does.

I feel horrible for the thousands of people who spent $40 a pop to buy the healer DVD. I hope somehow they get their money back. I and am grieving for the people who will harden their hearts toward God because of this debauchery.

But I think that it is wonderful to serve a God who uses screw-ups, idiots, and yes even sinners–like me. I know that I’ve been guilty of the same thing Mike did. He tried to help God out a little bit. As if God were incapable of bringing glory to himself without that incredible story and somewhat mediocre song. I’ve done the same. I’ve enhanced details to make the story zing, threw in a key change to manipulate emotions, marketed for shock value, and…

I’m not proud of it.

And I struggle every day to be authentic and real with God and before His people–His church. It’s just that I understand the temptation to spice things up a bit now and then. I know that God doesn’t need me or you, or Mike Guglielmucci for that matter, to carry him. And it is comforting to see that with the song Healer–just as it has been with me and you–that even when we thought we were carrying God, he was carrying us.

Read the story here.

Have you tried to “help God out”? Hit the “comment” link and Join the Conversation.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 08 2008
Anonymous

Bravo! And thank you for being so transparent about the temptation that seizes us all from time to time. The more we put satan’s junk in the “light,” the less powerful his ploys become. Keep it real!

21 08 2008
sebren

thanks for your transparency and reminder that God doesn’t need us but has chosen to use us. Yes, I too have been guilty of trying to spice up the Glory of God as if he needed me or as if His Word could not stand alone. I am so thankful for His Grace and Mercy which covers me of that sin too.

1 10 2008
DaRonn

Interesting observation. Good points. I just wonder how it has effected Hillsong.

Leave a Reply

