My Blog Is Better Than Your Blog

12 08 2008


“Never have so many people with so little to say said so much to so few.” –www.despair.com

So I haven’t posted in a while…a long while. It wasn’t that I lost interest; I lost focus.

I found myself checking my blog several times a day just to see how many hits I had. I know, I’m pathetic…I was on this quest to prove that “my blog was better than your blog”. And as the hits came in, I felt some how justified as a person because of them.

I wonder why I am so prone to defining myself by how important I am to other people. By finding my self-worth in other people’s opinions, I allowed them to define me. I was as witty as you said I was. I was as smart as your “hits” declared. It is a scary thing—the power we allow others to wield over us.

I don’t want to be defined by you. I don’t want to be defined by my accomplishments, or my failures, or my status, or my abilities.

I want to believe that what God says about me is true.

I want to believe.

So what defines you? Hit the “comment” link and Join the Conversation.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

